State Recognizes 30 Schools for Excellence in Behavioral Prevention Efforts

/ 13 May 2014 / Shawna

Keith Hovis, MN Department of Education, May 13, 2014

Contact: 651-582-8275 or

ROSEVILLE – Today the Minnesota Department of Education recognized 30 schools for their successful work using Positive Behavioral Intervention and Supports (PBIS), a data-driven program that provides districts and individual schools throughout Minnesota with training and technical support to promote improvement in student behavior, especially for students with challenging social behaviors. The schools receiving recognition as “Sustaining Exemplar Schools” are leaders in supporting positive behavior, improving school climate and increasing student achievement.

“I congratulate these schools for their leadership in finding new ways to positively address student behavior. Too many times, negative student behavior results in suspensions or detention that takes a child out of the classroom and disrupts their learning,” said Commissioner Brenda Cassellius. “PBIS helps schools set clear expectations for students, teachers and families and new ways to address behavior issues. Each of these 30 schools is showing the benefits of creating respectful and supportive school climates and the positive impact that work can have on student achievement.”

Since its launch in 2005, PBIS has spread across the state and is currently being implemented by 478 Minnesota schools, or 24 percent of the state’s nearly 2,000 schools. To establish a PBIS program, 80 percent of a school’s teachers and staff need to agree to implement a more positive approach to discipline. Participating schools then receive intensive professional development, including instruction in how to monitor and track results. Data from participating schools show clear evidence of the program’s success, specifically in reduced number of behavioral incidents, fewer student suspensions and increased levels of student engagement.

To be identified as a Sustaining Exemplar School, staff needed to submit an application that documented their work with PBIS, including, professional outcomes, a plan for sustaining the program and how they are giving back and sharing their practices with other schools throughout the state. Schools must also have been implementing PBIS for at least three years.

The 30 schools being recognized are:

• Isanti Intermediate and School for All Seasons, Cambridge-Isanti School District

• King Elementary, Deer River Independent School District

• Rossman Elementary, Detroit Lakes Public School District

• Pioneer Ridge Middle School, Eastern Carver County Public Schools

• Chaska Middle School West, Eastern Carver County Public Schools

• Lake Crystal Wellcome Memorial Elementary, LCWM Public School District

• Maple Lake Elementary School, Maple Lake Public School District

• S.G. Reinertsen Elementary, Moorhead Public School District

• Bel Air Elementary, Mounds View Public School District

• Turtle Lake Elementary School, Mounds View Public School District

• Sunnyside Elementary School, Mounds View Public School District

• Valentine Hills Elementary, Mounds View Public School District

• Oakdale Elementary School, North St. Paul-Maplewood School District

• Birch Grove Elementary, Osseo Public School District

• Pillager Elementary, Pillager Public School District

• Pillager Secondary, Pillager Public School District

• North Elementary, Princeton Public School District

• Princeton Middle School, Princeton Public School District

• Twin Oaks Middle School, Prior Lake – Savage School District

• Richfield STEM, Richfield Public School District

• George W. Gibbs Elementary, Rochester Public School District

• Roseville Area Middle School, Roseville School District

• Saint Michael-Albertville Middle School West, Saint Michael-Albertville School District

• Sauk Centre Elementary, Sauk Centre Public School District

• Sleepy Eye Elementary, Sleepy Eye Public School District

• Madison Elementary, St. Cloud Public School District

• North Junior High School, St. Cloud Public School District

• Discovery (Community) School, St. Cloud Public School District

• Westwood Elementary, St. Cloud Public School District

• Oak Hill Community School, St. Cloud Public School Districtand the level of risk in any given case.